Designed and built with care, filled with creative elements

Follow Us


Our Committees

  /    /  Our Committees


The Victorian Cancer Biobank has several groups and committees that oversee and provide support, input and guidance to both the strategic and the operational outputs of the VCB. The main governance group to the VCB includes the Board of Governance and the Executive Team.

Governing Board

The Board of Governance is a key group of Consortium and independent representatives that drive the VCB strategically. The independent members bring a range of expertise to the Board in fields of business strategy, scientific research, consumer relations and academia, to name a few.

Executive Team

The Executive Team consists of the Director (Victorian Cancer Registry), Deputy Director (Victorian Cancer Registry), Projects Manager and Data Systems Manager that strategically and operationally lead the Tissue Bank Sites to work towards achieving high outputs of quality biospecimens to support the research community.

The VCB Governance Structure

Governance Structure

Business Advisory Panel

The Business Advisory Panel is comprised of key industry specialists that inform the Board of the current and upcoming industry trends as well as community engagement.

Advisory Panel Chair: TBA

Advisory Panel Members: TBA

Management and Operations Committee (MOC)

This Management Committee comprises of each of the Tissue Bank Managers in addition to some of the VCB’s key stakeholders from the Royal Children’s Hospital and the St Vincent Institute. This committee is led by an independent chair and helps drive the VCB operationally.

Committee Members:
Dr. Helen Farrugia, Director, Victorian Cancer Registry
Dr. Catherine Shang, Deputy Director, Victorian Cancer Registry
Ms. Kelsey Serena, Project Manager
Dr. Maggie Ling, Data Systems Manager
Ms. Angela Mountain, Austin Health Tissue Bank Manager
Ms. Susan Hume, Eastern Health Tissue Bank Manager
Ms. Leanne Taylor, Melbourne Health Tissue Bank Manager
Ms. Zdenka Prodanovic, Monash Health Tissue Bank Manager
Ms. Samantha Cauberg, Peter MacCallum Tissue Bank Manager
Dr. Louise Ludlow, Children’s Cancer Centre Tissue Bank Coordinator
Ms. Jacinta McMahon, St Vincent’s Institute Biobank Coordinator
Ms. Estelle O’Callaghan, Independent Committee Member

Tissue and Data Access Committee (AC)

This committee reviews and collectively decides on whether or not the application submitted meets all ethical and scientific justifications prior to commencement. This committee is made up of scientific and research experts in varying fields and is led by the Executive Officer.

Quality Committee

This committee will be formed over the coming year but it will be designed to aid and assist the VCB’s drive for ISO certification as well as continuing quality assurance to ensure that the VCB continues to provide its services at above industry standards.

Tissue Bank Scientists Group

This group’s purpose is to have a forum style discussion to help minimize potential disconnection from the operations and strategic direction of the organisation. This also allows for the scientists to raise queries and concerns, improvements and to bring a harmonized approach to the operations of the VCB.