Designed and built with care, filled with creative elements

Follow Us



  /    /  Governance


The Victorian Cancer Biobank (VCB) consortium consists of six members with Cancer Council Victoria (CCV) as the lead agency. The central operations of VCB is part of the Victorian Cancer Registry (VCR) Division within Cancer Council Victoria. The VCR is a population-based cancer registry that provides comprehensive, accurate and timely information for cancer control by developing and maintaining a high quality, accessible information asset to support epidemiological, clinical, behavioural and health services research and evaluation.

The Strategic Advisory Group (SAG) together with the Management and Operations Group (MOG) provide support, input and guidance to both the strategic and the operational outputs of the VCB. The sample and service provisions of VCB is governed by the Access Committee (AC).

Strategic Advisory Group (SAG)

The role of the Strategic Advisory Group is to provide advice to Victorian Cancer Biobank to guide its strategic direction and priorities to achieve the Mission and Vision of the biobank and to further enable the long term viability and sustainability.

Group Members:
Prof Melissa Southey, Monash University – Chair
Assoc Prof Kerryn Ireland-Jenkin, Austin Health – Consortium Member
Prof Christopher Gilfillan, Eastern Health – Consortium Member
Prof Geoffrey Lindeman, Melbourne Health – Deputy Chair
Prof Beena Kumar, Monash University – Consortium Member
Prof Stephen Fox, Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute – Consortium Member
Ms. Alison Button-Sloan – Consumer Representative
Mr. Alan Barlee – Consumer Representative
Dr Chon Boon Eng, National University Hospital, Singapore – International Advisor
Dr Daniel Simeon-Dubach, MedService – International Advisor
Prof Jennifer Byrne, NSW Health Pathology; University of Sydney – General Representative
Mr Andrew Gilbert, Bioplatforms Australia – General Representative
Dr Colleen D’Arcy, The Royal Children’s Hospital – General Representative
Vacant,  – General Representative
Dr Dayna Swiatek, Department of Health and Human Services – Victorian Cancer Agency Representative
Dr Wayne Ng, Victorian Cancer Biobank – Lead Agency Representative
Prof Sue Evans, Victorian Cancer Registry – Lead Agency Representative

Central Operations Team

The Team strategically and operationally coordinates the Tissue Bank Sites to work towards achieving high outputs of quality biospecimens to support the research community. The Team is based at the lead agency, Cancer Council Victoria within the Victorian Cancer Registry Division.

Management and Operations Group (MOG)

The Management and Operations Group of  VCB is formed to provide a forum for the management team to discuss and action on management and operation issues in accordance to the directions from Cancer Council Victoria with the advice from Strategic Advisory Group.

Group Members:
Dr Wayne Ng, VCB General Manager
Ms Samantha Higgins, Quality Manager – Chair
Mr Duncan Villanueva, Data Systems Manager
Mr Jonas Hess, Business Development Manager
Ms Angela Mountain, Austin Health Tissue Bank Manager
Ms Susan Hume, Eastern Health Tissue Bank Manager
Ms Leanne Graham, Melbourne Health Tissue Bank Manager
Mr Jhoseph Marquez, Monash Health Tissue Bank Manager
Ms Samantha Cauberg, Peter MacCallum Tissue Bank Manager

Access Committee (AC)

This committee reviews and collectively decides on whether or not the application submitted meets all ethical and scientific justifications prior to commencement. This committee is made up of scientific and research experts in varying fields and is led by the VCB Manager.

Group Members:
Dr Wayne Ng,
VCB General Manager
Associate Professor Eric Chow, Head of Health Data Management and Biostatistics Unit, Alfred Health
Associate Professor Heather Thorne, kConFab National Manager, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
Ms Helen Farrugia, Health Data and Governance Expert